What is Glaucoma?

Glaucoma is the name given to a group of conditions in which the optic nerve suffers a characteristic form of damage which is often associated with a raised level of intraocular pressure (although, due to other factors, patients with normal intraocular pressure can also be suffering from glaucoma). The optic nerve damage causes patchy loss of vision that varies in severity from patient to patient. Without treatment the loss of vision usually gets worse over the course of many months or several years.

Nearly half of those with glaucoma do not know they have the disease. This is because in the early stages of the disease there may be no symptoms. The loss of vision in glaucoma is permanent but with early treatment the damage to vision can be minimized.

There are five types of glaucoma:

  • Primary open angle glaucoma
  • Primary closed angle glaucoma
  • Secondary open angle glaucoma
  • Secondary closed angle glaucoma
  • Normotension glaucoma

Building up pressure

Causes Optic Nerve Damage